You are here: Top Engineering Schools > Asia > Cyprus


Cyprus: population and cities



According to Countryaah website, the Republic of Cyprus has about 1.2 million residents. The northern part of Turkey has about 294,900 residents.

Cyprus: population and cities

Ethnic composition

Cyprus has a population density of 82 people per square kilometer. About 75% of the population are Greek-speaking Cypriots, about 18% of the population are of Turkish descent. The rest of the population is made up of Armenians, Maronites and residents of other countries (primarily British). The Greeks live mainly in the south of the island on about two thirds of the total area, the Turks in the northern part. Tens of thousands of mainland Turks were also settled there after 1974.


99% of the Greek Cypriots belong to the Greek Orthodox Church. The Turkish Cypriots are overwhelmingly Sunni Muslims.


language The national languages are Greek and Turkish. As a result of British colonial rule and due to the very close ties to Great Britain, English is spoken almost everywhere. For example, roads and highways are signposted in Latin script; Other signs and, for example, menus in restaurants are almost always in English.

Capital and other cities

The capital of both parts of Cyprus is Nicosia. Since the German reunification, it has been the only divided capital in the world. Around 55,500 people live on the northern side of the border, which is guarded by UNO soldiers, and around 22,900 on the southern side.

Other cities are:

  • Limassol with around 150,000 residents
  • Larnaca with around 50,000 residents
  • Paphos with around 30,000 residents

Cyprus: geography and general map

Defined by DigoPaul, information on the geography of Cyprus, including the overview map shown here - with the most important information about this island nation. In this article the "Greek" part of the island - the Republic of Cyprus - is presented.

Cyprus: geography and general map

The island belongs geographically to Asia. But the "Republic of Cyprus" has been a member of the EU since May 1st, 2004 and a member of the Eurozone since January 1st, 2008 - it therefore belongs politically to Europe.

The landscape of Cyprus is characterized by two mountain ranges: the Troodos and the Kantara Mountains. Between them lies the fertile Messaria plain (Messaria: Greek for "between the mountains"). This is the main cultivation and settlement area of the island.

Before Cyprus was developed for tourism, the Cypriot economy was primarily based on agriculture. Today it is the second most important industry. Citrus fruits, potatoes, cereals, olives, vegetables and fruits of all kinds as well as wine are grown. The most important export products are citrus fruits and potatoes. Everywhere in the valleys you can find orange, lemon and olive plantations, in the west also banana plantations.

The Republic of Cyprus covers an area of 9,251 km².

Of these:

- Mountains, steppe, forest: 20%

- Agriculture: 17%

- Other: 63%

National border and length of coast

The Republic of Cyprus only shares a border with the Turkish part of the island, with a length of around 217 km.

Cyprus has a west-east extension of about 230 km and a north-south extension of about 95 km. The length of the coast of the island is about 650 km.

Tidal range in Nicosia

In Nicosia the mean tidal range is only a few decimeters.

For detailed explanations of ebb and flow, see Tides, Ebb and Flow.


Incidentally, the world's highest tidal range can be found in the Bay of Fundy in Canada, where it is up to 16 meters, and at spring tide even over 20 meters. The Bay of Fundy is located on the Atlantic between the Canadian provinces of New Brunswick and Nova Scotia, which is called Nova Scotia in German and whose capital is Halifax. On the German North Sea coast it varies between one and three meters. In the western Baltic Sea, on the other hand, the tidal range is only 0.3 meters, while it is barely noticeable in the eastern Baltic Sea.

Longitude and latitude

Cyprus extends over the following geographical latitude (abbreviation Δφ) and geographical longitude (abbreviation Δλ):

Δφ = from 34 33 'to 35 34' north latitude

Δλ = from 32 16 'to 34 37' east longitude

You can find detailed information on this subject under Longitude and Latitude.

Legal time

For the Republic of Cyprus, the following value applies to Central European Time (CET). A minus sign means that it is earlier there, a plus sign that it is later than CET:

Δt (CET) = + 1 h

Further and detailed explanations of the time can be found under Time zones, time

The highest point of the sun in Limassol

Limassol is located on the south coast of the island at a northern latitude of around φ = 35 .

As long as the sun is at the tropic, i.e. at δ = 23.5 , it is the beginning of summer in Limassol, this is June 21. Then, for the highest position of the sun at noon, according to Eq. 1 (see position of the sun):

35 = (90 - h) + 23.5


H = 78.5

With 78.5 the sun in Limassol has the highest level of the entire year above the horizon (more precisely: above the horizon).



The highest mountain in the country is the Olympos in the Troodos Mountains with a height of 1,953 m.

Other mountains are:

  • Madari with a height of 1,612 m
  • Kyparisso with a height of 1,024 m

The Mediterranean

Cyprus is an island in the middle of the eastern Mediterranean.



Algeria Angola
Benin Botswana
Burkina Faso Burundi
Cameroon Canary Islands
Cape Verde Central African Republic
Chad Comoros
D.R. Congo Djibouti
Egypt Equatorial Guinea
Eritrea Ethiopia
Gabon Gambia
Ghana Guinea
Guinea-Bissau Ivory Coast
Kenya Lesotho
Liberia Libya
Madagascar Malawi
Mali Mauritania
Mauritius Morocco
Mozambique Namibia
Niger Nigeria
Reunion Republic of the Congo
Rwanda Sao Tome and Principe
Senegal Seychelles
Sierra Leone Somalia
South Africa South Sudan
Sudan Suriname
Swaziland Tanzania
Togo Tunisia
Uganda Zambia


Afghanistan Armenia
Azerbaijan Bahrain
Bangladesh Bhutan
Brunei Cambodia
China Cyprus
East Timor Georgia
Hong Kong India
Indonesia Iran
Iraq Israel
Japan Jordan
Kazakhstan Kuwait
Kyrgyzstan Laos
Lebanon Macau
Malaysia Maldives
Mongolia Myanmar
Nepal North Korea
Oman Pakistan
Palestine Philippines
Qatar Saudi Arabia
Singapore South Korea
Sri Lanka Syria
Taiwan Tajikistan
Thailand Turkey
Turkmenistan United Arab Emirates
Uzbekistan Vietnam


Aland Albania
Andorra Austria
Belarus Belgium
Bulgaria Croatia
Czech Republic Denmark
Estonia Finland
France Germany
Greece Hungary
Iceland Ireland
Italy Kosovo
Latvia Liechtenstein
Lithuania Luxembourg
Macedonia Malta
Moldova Monaco
Montenegro Netherlands
Norway Poland
Portugal Romania
Russia San Marino
Serbia Slovakia
Slovenia Spain
Sweden Switzerland
Ukraine Vatican City

North America

Canada Greenland
Mexico United States

Central America

Aruba Antigua and Barbuda
Bahamas Barbados
Belize Bosnia and Herzegovina
Cuba British Virgin Islands
Costa Rica Curacao
Dominica Dominican Republic
Ecuador El Salvador
Guadeloupe Guatemala
Haiti Honduras
Jamaica Martinique
Montserrat Panama
Puerto Rico Saba
  Trinidad and Tobago

South America

Argentina Bolivia
Brazil Chile
Colombia French Guiana
Guyana Nicaragua
Paraguay Peru
Uruguay Venezuela


Australia American Samoa
Cook Islands Easter Island
Fiji Falkland Islands
Guam French Polynesia
Kiribati Marshall Islands
Micronesia Nauru
New Caledonia New Zealand
Niue Northern Mariana Islands
Palau Pitcairn
Samoa Papua New Guinea
Tokelau Solomon Islands
Tonga Tuvalu
Vanuatu Wallis and Futuna
Top 50 Engineering Schools in Asia

Copyright 2021 Top Engineering Schools All Right Reserved.