You are here: Top Engineering Schools > Europe > Luxembourg


Luxembourg: population and cities


According to Countryaah website, Luxembourg has a total of approx. 576,000 residents.

Luxembourg: population and cities

Ethnic composition

There are 307,000 Luxembourgers living in Luxembourg. Other residents are 90,000 Portuguese, 41,700 French, 40,000 Italian, 19,400 Belgians and Germans

Religious affiliation

Church and state are separated and from the 2017/2018 school year the previous religious instruction was discontinued and the subject "Life and Society" was replaced.

  • Catholics approx. 98%
  • Protestants approx. 1%
  • Jews approx. 0.25%
  • Muslims approx. 0.1%

National language

Lëtzebuergesch, official language also French and German.

Capital and other cities

The capital of Luxembourg is Luxembourg-Ville with a population of around 114,000.

Other cities and municipalities are:

  • Echternach with around 5,700 residents, known for the Echternach jumping procession
  • Esch/Alzette with around 25,400 residents
  • Differdange with around 17,700 residents
  • Dudelange with around 17,200 residents
  • Petange with around 13,800 residents
  • Sanem with around 12,900 residents
  • Schengen with around 4,900 residents, known from the Schengen Agreement

Luxembourg: geography, map

National borders

Defined by DigoPaul, Luxembourg has a common border with a total of three countries:

  • Germany with a length of around 135 km
  • France with a length of around 73 km
  • Belgium with a length of around 148 km

Area and land use

Luxembourg covers a total area of 2,586 km².

Luxembourg: geography, map


  • Forest

    Around 34% of the country is forested.

  • Meadow and pasture land

    Around 27% of the land is used as meadow or pasture land.

  • Arable land and fields

    Around 22% of the land is used as arable land or fields.

Longitude and latitude

Luxembourg extends over the following geographical latitude (abbreviation Δφ) and geographical longitude (abbreviation Δλ):

Δφ = from around 49 ° 23 'to 50 ° 05' north latitude

Δλ = from around 005 ° 48 'to 006 ° 40' east longitude

You can find detailed information on this subject under Longitude and Latitude.


For Luxembourg, the following value applies to Central European Time (CET).

Δ t (CET) = 0 h

Further and detailed explanations of the time can be found under Time zones, time.

The highest point of the sun in Luxembourg

The city of Luxembourg is located at a north latitude of around φ = 49.5 °.

If the sun or its image point is at the northern tropic, i.e. at δ = 23.5 °, summer begins in Luxembourg, this is June 21. Then, for the highest position of the sun at noon, according to Eq. 1 (see position of the sun):

49.5 ° = (90 ° - h) + 23.5 °


H = 64 °

At 64 °, the sun in Luxembourg has the highest level of the entire year above the horizon (more precisely: above the horizon).

Mountains, elevations


The highest "mountain" or the highest elevation in the country is the Burgplatz in Huldange with a height of 560 m.


Another elevation is the almost equally high Wemperhardt with a height of 559 m.



The Moselle rises in France at the Col de Bussang in the Vosges and flows into the Rhine after about 545 km at the so-called "Deutsche Eck" in Koblenz on the left bank of the Rhine. Over a length of 36 km, the river in the southeast of the country forms the border with Germany. In Germany the Moselle flows through the federal states of Saarland and Rhineland Palatinate. In addition to Koblenz, Metz, Nancy, Schengen in Luxembourg (Schengen Agreement) and Trier are larger cities on the river or in its vicinity. The Moselle is the longest tributary of the Rhine and is known, at least throughout Germany, for its excellent wines. In addition to Schengen, the villages of Remich and Grevenmacher are also located on the river in Luxembourg.

Saar, Sauer, Alzette

The two longest tributaries of the Moselle are the Saar with a length of around 245 km and the Sauer with a length of around 175 km, whose approximately 95 km long tributary the Our forms part of the border with Germany. The Our flows into the Sauer near Wallendorf in Germany.

The Alzette has its source in France, flows through the city of Luxembourg and flows into the Sauer after about 75 km at Ettelbrück in Luxembourg. By the way, the Sauer flows into the Moselle near the municipality of Oberbillig - in the Trier-Saarburg district in Rhineland-Palatinate.


Echternacher See

The largest lake is the Echternacher See with an area of about 35 ha = 0.35 km².

Other lakes are:

  • Upper Sauer Reservoir
  • Remescher lakes
  • Weisswampacher lakes
  • Rosporter reservoir



Algeria Angola
Benin Botswana
Burkina Faso Burundi
Cameroon Canary Islands
Cape Verde Central African Republic
Chad Comoros
D.R. Congo Djibouti
Egypt Equatorial Guinea
Eritrea Ethiopia
Gabon Gambia
Ghana Guinea
Guinea-Bissau Ivory Coast
Kenya Lesotho
Liberia Libya
Madagascar Malawi
Mali Mauritania
Mauritius Morocco
Mozambique Namibia
Niger Nigeria
Reunion Republic of the Congo
Rwanda Sao Tome and Principe
Senegal Seychelles
Sierra Leone Somalia
South Africa South Sudan
Sudan Suriname
Swaziland Tanzania
Togo Tunisia
Uganda Zambia


Afghanistan Armenia
Azerbaijan Bahrain
Bangladesh Bhutan
Brunei Cambodia
China Cyprus
East Timor Georgia
Hong Kong India
Indonesia Iran
Iraq Israel
Japan Jordan
Kazakhstan Kuwait
Kyrgyzstan Laos
Lebanon Macau
Malaysia Maldives
Mongolia Myanmar
Nepal North Korea
Oman Pakistan
Palestine Philippines
Qatar Saudi Arabia
Singapore South Korea
Sri Lanka Syria
Taiwan Tajikistan
Thailand Turkey
Turkmenistan United Arab Emirates
Uzbekistan Vietnam


Aland Albania
Andorra Austria
Belarus Belgium
Bulgaria Croatia
Czech Republic Denmark
Estonia Finland
France Germany
Greece Hungary
Iceland Ireland
Italy Kosovo
Latvia Liechtenstein
Lithuania Luxembourg
Macedonia Malta
Moldova Monaco
Montenegro Netherlands
Norway Poland
Portugal Romania
Russia San Marino
Serbia Slovakia
Slovenia Spain
Sweden Switzerland
Ukraine Vatican City

North America

Canada Greenland
Mexico United States

Central America

Aruba Antigua and Barbuda
Bahamas Barbados
Belize Bosnia and Herzegovina
Cuba British Virgin Islands
Costa Rica Curacao
Dominica Dominican Republic
Ecuador El Salvador
Guadeloupe Guatemala
Haiti Honduras
Jamaica Martinique
Montserrat Panama
Puerto Rico Saba
  Trinidad and Tobago

South America

Argentina Bolivia
Brazil Chile
Colombia French Guiana
Guyana Nicaragua
Paraguay Peru
Uruguay Venezuela


Australia American Samoa
Cook Islands Easter Island
Fiji Falkland Islands
Guam French Polynesia
Kiribati Marshall Islands
Micronesia Nauru
New Caledonia New Zealand
Niue Northern Mariana Islands
Palau Pitcairn
Samoa Papua New Guinea
Tokelau Solomon Islands
Tonga Tuvalu
Vanuatu Wallis and Futuna
Top 50 Engineering Schools in Asia

Copyright 2021 Top Engineering Schools All Right Reserved.