You are here: Top Engineering Schools > Africa > Angola


Angola: population and cities



According to Countryaah website, Angola has about 26 million people.

Angola: population and cities

Ethnic composition

The population of Angola is mainly composed of three Bantu ethnic groups: 37% are Ovimbundu, 25% Kimbundu and 13% Bakongo. Other African ethnic groups in the country are, for example, the Chokwe (also Lunda), Ganguela, Nhaneca-Humbe, Ambo, Herero and Xindena. The European minority (predominantly Portuguese) makes up around 1%.

Religious affiliation

The residents of Angola are approximately 50% Catholics and 25% Protestants. The rest are followers of traditional African religions.

National language

Portuguese is the country's official language. Most of the residents speak Bantu languages such as Umbundu, Kimbundu, Kikongo, Tchokwe and Lwena.

Social situation

Despite the great progress made in recent years, two thirds of the population still live on around $ 2 a day. The illiteracy rate was still over 30% in 2009 and the mortality rate of children up to the age of 5 was still 190 per thousand.

Capital and other cities

The capital of Angola is Luanda with a population of approximately 7 million.

Other important or larger cities in Angola are:

- Huambo with around 400,000 residents

- Benguela with around 160,000 residents

- Lobito with around 150,000 residents

- Lubango with around 110,000 residents and

- Namibe with around 100,000 residents

Angola: geography, map

Defined by DigoPaul, Angola is located in South West Africa. The Cabinda exclave is located north between the Democratic Republic of the Congo and the Republic of the Congo on the Atlantic Ocean. The country covers a total area of 1,246,700 km².

Angola: geography, map


  • Forest

    Around 42% of the country is forested.

  • Meadow and pasture land

    Around 24% of the land is used as meadow or pasture land.

  • Fields and fields

    Around 3% of the land is used as arable land or fields, especially for growing coffee.

Angola has a common border with a total of four countries:

- Democratic Republic of the Congo with a length of 2,511 km,

- Republic of the Congo with a length of 201 km,

- Namibia with a length of 1,376 km

- Zambia with a length of 1,110 km.

Angola has a coast to the Atlantic Ocean with a length of around 1,600 km. There are extensive oil deposits in the sea off the coast of the country.

Longitude and latitude

Angola extends over the following geographical latitude (abbreviation Δφ) and geographical longitude (abbreviation Δλ):

Δφ = from 4 22 'to 18 02' south latitude

Δλ = from 011 41 'to 024 05' east longitude

You can find detailed information on this subject under Longitude and Latitude.


For Angola, the following value applies to Central European Time (CET), i.e. the time (without summer time) in Germany, Austria and Switzerland. A minus sign means that it is earlier there, and a plus sign that it is later than CET:

Δt (CET) = + 0 h

Further and detailed explanations of the time can be found under Time zones, time.

The highest point of the sun in Luanda

Luanda lies on a southern latitude of around φ = 09 .

If the declination of the sun has a value of 09 south and the sun's image point is exactly above the city, the sun is perpendicular to the city. This happens exactly twice a year, roughly 35 days before March 21st and 35 days after September 21st (see position of the sun).


If the image point of the sun and thus the declination δ is north of the latitude of Luanda, the sun is not in the south at noon, as in our latitudes, but in the north.

In this case, the sun moves from east to north to west, where, like us, it sets.


The highest mountain in the country is the Morro de Môco with a height of 2,610 m. Other mountains are the Tama with a height of 2,490 m and the Serra da Chela with a height of 2,306 m.


The longest river in the country is the Okawango with a length - depending on the author - between 1,600 and 1,800 km. It is of interest that the river does not flow into the sea, but rather seeps into the desert-like areas of Botswana.

Other rivers in the country include:

- Cuanza

- Cuango

- Cuando

- Cubango

- Cunene

- Cuito


The country includes numerous smaller and larger lakes. The largest lake is the Lagoa Funda. Another larger lake is the Lagoa Kikuxi.

Islands off the coast

The largest island in Angola is the Mussulo Island. There is also the Luanda Island, which is connected to the capital by a bridge, the Cazandra Island, the Vogel Island Pair and other small islands.

The Atlantic

Angola borders the Atlantic Ocean in the west of the country for around 1,600 km.



Algeria Angola
Benin Botswana
Burkina Faso Burundi
Cameroon Canary Islands
Cape Verde Central African Republic
Chad Comoros
D.R. Congo Djibouti
Egypt Equatorial Guinea
Eritrea Ethiopia
Gabon Gambia
Ghana Guinea
Guinea-Bissau Ivory Coast
Kenya Lesotho
Liberia Libya
Madagascar Malawi
Mali Mauritania
Mauritius Morocco
Mozambique Namibia
Niger Nigeria
Reunion Republic of the Congo
Rwanda Sao Tome and Principe
Senegal Seychelles
Sierra Leone Somalia
South Africa South Sudan
Sudan Suriname
Swaziland Tanzania
Togo Tunisia
Uganda Zambia


Afghanistan Armenia
Azerbaijan Bahrain
Bangladesh Bhutan
Brunei Cambodia
China Cyprus
East Timor Georgia
Hong Kong India
Indonesia Iran
Iraq Israel
Japan Jordan
Kazakhstan Kuwait
Kyrgyzstan Laos
Lebanon Macau
Malaysia Maldives
Mongolia Myanmar
Nepal North Korea
Oman Pakistan
Palestine Philippines
Qatar Saudi Arabia
Singapore South Korea
Sri Lanka Syria
Taiwan Tajikistan
Thailand Turkey
Turkmenistan United Arab Emirates
Uzbekistan Vietnam


Aland Albania
Andorra Austria
Belarus Belgium
Bulgaria Croatia
Czech Republic Denmark
Estonia Finland
France Germany
Greece Hungary
Iceland Ireland
Italy Kosovo
Latvia Liechtenstein
Lithuania Luxembourg
Macedonia Malta
Moldova Monaco
Montenegro Netherlands
Norway Poland
Portugal Romania
Russia San Marino
Serbia Slovakia
Slovenia Spain
Sweden Switzerland
Ukraine Vatican City

North America

Canada Greenland
Mexico United States

Central America

Aruba Antigua and Barbuda
Bahamas Barbados
Belize Bosnia and Herzegovina
Cuba British Virgin Islands
Costa Rica Curacao
Dominica Dominican Republic
Ecuador El Salvador
Guadeloupe Guatemala
Haiti Honduras
Jamaica Martinique
Montserrat Panama
Puerto Rico Saba
  Trinidad and Tobago

South America

Argentina Bolivia
Brazil Chile
Colombia French Guiana
Guyana Nicaragua
Paraguay Peru
Uruguay Venezuela


Australia American Samoa
Cook Islands Easter Island
Fiji Falkland Islands
Guam French Polynesia
Kiribati Marshall Islands
Micronesia Nauru
New Caledonia New Zealand
Niue Northern Mariana Islands
Palau Pitcairn
Samoa Papua New Guinea
Tokelau Solomon Islands
Tonga Tuvalu
Vanuatu Wallis and Futuna
Top 50 Engineering Schools in Asia

Copyright 2021 Top Engineering Schools All Right Reserved.