You are here: Top Engineering Schools > Europe > Belgium


Belgium: population and cities


According to Countryaah website, Belgium has around 11 million residents.

Belgium: population and cities

Ethnic composition

  • Flemings 59%,
  • Walloons 40%
  • Germans around 1% (60,000)
  • Others under 1% (mostly Europeans)

Religious affiliation

  • Catholics approx. 8 million
  • Protestants about 75,000
  • Orthodox about 40,000
  • Muslims about 400,000
  • Jews about 35,000

National language

The language dispute between the Walloons and Flemings, which is also a cultural and economic dispute, is increasingly separating the French-speaking Walloons from the Flemings living in the north. Meanwhile, there is more and more talk of a separation of the country along the lines of the separation of what was then Czechoslovakia

  • Dutch (Flemish 59%)
  • French (Walloons 40%)
  • German (Eupen-Malmedy 1%)

Capital, other cities

The capital of Belgium is Brussels (Bruxelles) with a population of 1,160,500 in the metropolitan area.

Other cities are:

  • Antwerp 448,700
  • Ghent (Gent) 226,200
  • Charleroi 200,600
  • Liège 185.100
  • Bruges (Bruges) 116,800
  • Namur 105,400

Belgium: geography, map

Boundaries, coastline

Defined by DigoPaul, Belgium has a common border with a total of 4 countries:

  • Germany with a length of around 167 km,
  • France with a length of around 620 km,
  • Luxembourg with a length of around 148 km,
  • Netherlands with a length of around 450 km.

Belgium has a coast to the North Sea with a length of around 66 km.

Belgium: geography, map


Belgium covers an area of around 30,528 km².


  • Forest

    Around 21% of the country is forested.

  • Agriculture

    Around 46% of the land is used as arable land or fields.

  • Others

    around 32%

Tidal range

The mean tidal range on the Belgian coast is around 3 m. (For a detailed explanation of ebb and flow, see Tides, Ebb and Flow).


The world's highest tidal range can be found in the Bay of Fundy in Canada, where it is up to 16 m, and at spring tide even over 20 m. The Bay of Fundy is located on the Atlantic between the Canadian provinces of New Brunswick and Nova Scotia, which is called Nova Scotia in German and whose capital is Halifax. On the German North Sea coast it varies between 1 m and 3 m. In the western Baltic Sea, on the other hand, the tidal range is only 0.3 m, while it is barely noticeable in the eastern Baltic Sea.

Longitude and latitude

Belgium extends over the following latitude (abbreviation Δφ) and longitude (abbreviation Δλ):

Δφ = from 49 ° 30 'to 51 ° 30' north latitude

Δλ = from 2 ° 32 'to 6 ° 24' east longitude

You can find detailed information on this subject under Longitude and Latitude.

Legal time

Central European Time (CET) or Central European Summer Time (CEST) applies to Belgium:

Δt (CET) = 0 h

Further and detailed explanations of the time can be found under Time zones, time.

The highest point of the sun in Brussels

Brussels lies at a north latitude of around φ = 51 °.

If the sun is at the tropic, i.e. at δ = 23.5 °, summer will start in Brussels on June 21st. Then, for the highest position of the sun at noon, according to Eq. 1 (see position of the sun):

51 ° = (90 ° - h) + 23.5 °


H = 62.5 °

At 62.5 °, the sun has the highest level of the entire year above the horizon (precisely: above the horizon).

Mountains or elevations


The highest mountain in the country is the Botrange with a height of 694 m.

Baraque Michel

Another high mountain is the Baraque Michel with a height of 675 m.



The longest river in the country is the Meuse with a length of around 925 km. The Maas has its source.Other

rivers in the country are:

  • Scheldt with a length of around 355 km (191 km national portion)
  • Semois with a length of around 210 km
  • Leie with a length of around 202 km (109 km of the country)
  • Sambre with a length of around 193 km
  • Ourthe with a length of around 165 km

The North Sea

Belgium lies on the North Sea and has one of the largest ports in Europe with Rotterdam.



Algeria Angola
Benin Botswana
Burkina Faso Burundi
Cameroon Canary Islands
Cape Verde Central African Republic
Chad Comoros
D.R. Congo Djibouti
Egypt Equatorial Guinea
Eritrea Ethiopia
Gabon Gambia
Ghana Guinea
Guinea-Bissau Ivory Coast
Kenya Lesotho
Liberia Libya
Madagascar Malawi
Mali Mauritania
Mauritius Morocco
Mozambique Namibia
Niger Nigeria
Reunion Republic of the Congo
Rwanda Sao Tome and Principe
Senegal Seychelles
Sierra Leone Somalia
South Africa South Sudan
Sudan Suriname
Swaziland Tanzania
Togo Tunisia
Uganda Zambia


Afghanistan Armenia
Azerbaijan Bahrain
Bangladesh Bhutan
Brunei Cambodia
China Cyprus
East Timor Georgia
Hong Kong India
Indonesia Iran
Iraq Israel
Japan Jordan
Kazakhstan Kuwait
Kyrgyzstan Laos
Lebanon Macau
Malaysia Maldives
Mongolia Myanmar
Nepal North Korea
Oman Pakistan
Palestine Philippines
Qatar Saudi Arabia
Singapore South Korea
Sri Lanka Syria
Taiwan Tajikistan
Thailand Turkey
Turkmenistan United Arab Emirates
Uzbekistan Vietnam


Aland Albania
Andorra Austria
Belarus Belgium
Bulgaria Croatia
Czech Republic Denmark
Estonia Finland
France Germany
Greece Hungary
Iceland Ireland
Italy Kosovo
Latvia Liechtenstein
Lithuania Luxembourg
Macedonia Malta
Moldova Monaco
Montenegro Netherlands
Norway Poland
Portugal Romania
Russia San Marino
Serbia Slovakia
Slovenia Spain
Sweden Switzerland
Ukraine Vatican City

North America

Canada Greenland
Mexico United States

Central America

Aruba Antigua and Barbuda
Bahamas Barbados
Belize Bosnia and Herzegovina
Cuba British Virgin Islands
Costa Rica Curacao
Dominica Dominican Republic
Ecuador El Salvador
Guadeloupe Guatemala
Haiti Honduras
Jamaica Martinique
Montserrat Panama
Puerto Rico Saba
  Trinidad and Tobago

South America

Argentina Bolivia
Brazil Chile
Colombia French Guiana
Guyana Nicaragua
Paraguay Peru
Uruguay Venezuela


Australia American Samoa
Cook Islands Easter Island
Fiji Falkland Islands
Guam French Polynesia
Kiribati Marshall Islands
Micronesia Nauru
New Caledonia New Zealand
Niue Northern Mariana Islands
Palau Pitcairn
Samoa Papua New Guinea
Tokelau Solomon Islands
Tonga Tuvalu
Vanuatu Wallis and Futuna
Top 50 Engineering Schools in Asia

Copyright 2021 Top Engineering Schools All Right Reserved.