You are here: Top Engineering Schools > Africa > Burundi


Burundi: population and cities



According to Countryaah website, Burundi had around 12 million people in mid-2012.

Burundi: population and cities

Ethnic composition

The population of Burundi is made up of around 85% Hutu, 14% Tutsi and around 1% Twa pygmies who live in the forest areas of the mountains.

Religious affiliation

Approximately 80% of the residents of Burundi are Christians (predominantly Catholics) and another 18% are followers of natural religions. The Muslims represent a religious minority with around 2%.

National languages The first official language in Burundi is the Bantu language Kurundi, the second official language is French and a minority speaks English. There are also various Bantu dialects in use.

Capital and other cities

The capital of Burundi is Bujumbura with a population of around 1 million.

Other larger cities are:

  • Muyinga with around 71,000 residents
  • Gitega with about 23,000 residents
  • Ngozi with about 22,000 residents

Burundi: geography


Defined by DigoPaul, Burundi is one of the smallest states in Africa. It is located between Lake Victoria and Lake Tanganyika on a high plateau that gradually merges into a mountain range of the Central African Rift Valley.

Burundi: geography

Area and boundaries

Burundi covers a total area of 27,834 km². Thereof:

  • Forest

    Around 3% of the country is forested. Burundi's forest stands suffer from the world's largest percentage decline of around 9%.

  • Fields and fields

    Around 52% of the land is used as arable land or fields, especially for growing cotton, peanuts and sesame as well as millet, maize and rice.

  • Meadow and pasture land

    About 36% of the land is used as meadow or pasture land.

Burundi borders on three states. These are the borders with:

Democratic Republic of the Congo, with a length of 233 km,

Rwanda with a length of 290 km and

Tanzania with a length of 451 km.

Longitude and latitude

Burundi extends over the following geographical latitude (abbreviation Δφ) and geographical longitude (abbreviation Δλ):

Δφ = from 2 20 'to 4 30' south latitude

Δλ = from 29 to 31 east longitude

You can find detailed information on this subject under Longitude and Latitude.

Time in Burundi

In Burundi, the opposite of Central European Time (CET) applies, i.e. the time without summer time as in Germany, Austria and Switzerland.

Δt (CET) = + 1 h

Further and detailed explanations of the time can be found under Time zones, time.

The highest point of the sun in Bujumbura

Bujumbura is located at a southern latitude of about 3.5 (see position of the sun). If the declination of the sun has the value 03 30 'S and the image point of the sun is above the city, the sun is perpendicular there. This happens twice a year, roughly 14 days before March 21st and 14 days after September 21st. Since Bujumbura is located in the southern hemisphere, the beginning of summer is there on September 21st. Accordingly, the image point is located north of the latitude of Bujumbura - then the sun at noon is not in the south, as in our latitudes, but in the north. So the sun moves from the east over the north to the west, where it sets.


The highest mountain in the country is the Karonje with a height of 2,685 m. Another high mountain is Mount Kikizi with a height of 2,145 m.


The longest river in Burundi is the Luvironza-Ruvubu-Ruvusu-Akagera. It rises in the south of the country and represents one of the headwaters of the Nile; together with this it reaches a length of 6,671 km.

Another river in Burundi is the Ruzizi with a length of 104 km. It is the only outflow from Lake Kiwu and flows into Lake Tanganyika.

Lakes, Lake Tanganijka

Lake Tanganyika

Lake Tanganyika is located in the south and southwest of Burundi. With a maximum depth of 1,470 m and an average depth of approx. 570 m, it is the second deepest lake on earth and the deepest in all of Africa. It covers an area of around 32,893 km², making it the second largest lake in Africa. Its water volume is 18,900 km³. Its length is around 650 km and its width varies between around 40 and 75 km. The lake lies in the East African rift system - the tectonic fracture zone in East Africa. In addition to Burundi, the lake belongs to the following countries: Democratic Republic of the Congo, Zambia and Tanzania. With 45% and 41%, the Democratic Republic of the Congo and Tanzania take by far the largest part of the lake.

In addition, there is the small Cohoha Lake and the Rweru Lake in Burundi.



Algeria Angola
Benin Botswana
Burkina Faso Burundi
Cameroon Canary Islands
Cape Verde Central African Republic
Chad Comoros
D.R. Congo Djibouti
Egypt Equatorial Guinea
Eritrea Ethiopia
Gabon Gambia
Ghana Guinea
Guinea-Bissau Ivory Coast
Kenya Lesotho
Liberia Libya
Madagascar Malawi
Mali Mauritania
Mauritius Morocco
Mozambique Namibia
Niger Nigeria
Reunion Republic of the Congo
Rwanda Sao Tome and Principe
Senegal Seychelles
Sierra Leone Somalia
South Africa South Sudan
Sudan Suriname
Swaziland Tanzania
Togo Tunisia
Uganda Zambia


Afghanistan Armenia
Azerbaijan Bahrain
Bangladesh Bhutan
Brunei Cambodia
China Cyprus
East Timor Georgia
Hong Kong India
Indonesia Iran
Iraq Israel
Japan Jordan
Kazakhstan Kuwait
Kyrgyzstan Laos
Lebanon Macau
Malaysia Maldives
Mongolia Myanmar
Nepal North Korea
Oman Pakistan
Palestine Philippines
Qatar Saudi Arabia
Singapore South Korea
Sri Lanka Syria
Taiwan Tajikistan
Thailand Turkey
Turkmenistan United Arab Emirates
Uzbekistan Vietnam


Aland Albania
Andorra Austria
Belarus Belgium
Bulgaria Croatia
Czech Republic Denmark
Estonia Finland
France Germany
Greece Hungary
Iceland Ireland
Italy Kosovo
Latvia Liechtenstein
Lithuania Luxembourg
Macedonia Malta
Moldova Monaco
Montenegro Netherlands
Norway Poland
Portugal Romania
Russia San Marino
Serbia Slovakia
Slovenia Spain
Sweden Switzerland
Ukraine Vatican City

North America

Canada Greenland
Mexico United States

Central America

Aruba Antigua and Barbuda
Bahamas Barbados
Belize Bosnia and Herzegovina
Cuba British Virgin Islands
Costa Rica Curacao
Dominica Dominican Republic
Ecuador El Salvador
Guadeloupe Guatemala
Haiti Honduras
Jamaica Martinique
Montserrat Panama
Puerto Rico Saba
  Trinidad and Tobago

South America

Argentina Bolivia
Brazil Chile
Colombia French Guiana
Guyana Nicaragua
Paraguay Peru
Uruguay Venezuela


Australia American Samoa
Cook Islands Easter Island
Fiji Falkland Islands
Guam French Polynesia
Kiribati Marshall Islands
Micronesia Nauru
New Caledonia New Zealand
Niue Northern Mariana Islands
Palau Pitcairn
Samoa Papua New Guinea
Tokelau Solomon Islands
Tonga Tuvalu
Vanuatu Wallis and Futuna
Top 50 Engineering Schools in Asia

Copyright 2021 Top Engineering Schools All Right Reserved.