You are here: Top Engineering Schools > Asia > Maldives


Maldives: population, cities


According to Countryaah website, the Maldives have approx. 345,000 residents.

Maldives: population, cities

Ethnic composition

Sinhalese, Dravidians, Arabs and Africans live in the Maldives.


affiliation Mainly Sunni Muslims live in the Maldives.

National language

The national language of the Maldives is Divehi. The script is of Arabic origin and is called Thaana.

Capital, other cities


The capital of the Maldives is Malé on the South Malé Atoll with a population of approx. 124,000. Other cities are:

  • Hithadhoo with around 10,000 residents
  • Fuvammulah with around 8,000 residents
  • Kulhudhuffushi with around 7,500 residents
  • Thinadhoo with around 5,000 residents

Maldives: geography, map

Defined by DigoPaul, the Maldives are located in the Indian Ocean, about 700 km southwest of India. They consist of around 1,190 islands in the Indian Ocean. The length of the island state is around 750 km - with a width of around 120 km. The Maldives are among the popular holiday destinations.

Maldives: geography, map


The Maldives are an archipelago of around 1,190 islands in the Indian Ocean. The length of the island state is around 750 km - with a width of around 120 km.

The Maldives cover a total land area of 300 km² and a water area of around 89,700 km² - so a total area of around 90,000 km².

Of the land area are:

  • Forest

    Around 3% of the country is forested.

  • Meadow, pasture land

    Around 3% of the land is used as meadow or pasture land.

  • Fields and fields

    Around 10% of the land is used as arable land or fields, especially for growing millet, maize, sweet potato and sugar cane.

Maldives islands

The 1,190 islands are spread over 19 archipelagos and 26 atolls. About 220 islands are inhabited by locals and there are tourist resorts on about 90 islands. The islands that make up the Maldives have a sea coast with a length of around 644 km.

A selection of the atolls

  • Haa Alifu Atoll
  • Haa Dhaalu Atoll
  • Shaviyani Atoll
  • Noonu Atoll
  • Raa Atoll
  • Baa atoll
  • Lhaviyani Atoll
  • Kaafu Atoll
  • Alifu Atoll
  • Vaavu Atoll
  • Meemu Atoll
  • Faafu atoll
  • Dhaalu Atoll
  • Thaa atoll
  • Laamu Atoll
  • Gaafu Alifu Atoll
  • Gaafu Dhaalu Atoll
  • Gnaviyani Atoll
  • Seenu Atoll

Longitude and latitude

The Maldives extend over the following geographical latitude (abbr. Δφ) and geographical longitude (abbr. Δλ):

Δφ = from around 0 ° to 06 ° 48` north latitude

Δλ = from around 072 ° 50` to 074 ° east longitude

You can find detailed information on this subject under Longitude and Latitude.

Legal time

For the Maldives, the following value applies to Central European Time (CET), i.e. the time without summer time. A minus sign means that it is earlier there, a plus sign that it is later than CET:

Δt (CET) = + 4 h

Further and detailed explanations of the time can be found under Time zones, time.

The highest point of the sun in Malé

Male lies at a north latitude of around φ = 04 ° and thus in the middle of the tropics.

If the declination of the sun has a value of 04 ° north, and thus the image point of the sun is exactly above Malé, the sun is perpendicular there. This happens exactly twice a year, roughly 15 days after March 21st and 15 days before September 21st.


If the image point of the sun and thus the declination δ is north of the latitude of Malé, the sun is not in the south at noon, as in our latitudes, but in the north. In this case, the sun moves from east to north to west, where, like us, it sets.


The highest natural (nameless) elevation is on Wilingili Island in the Addu Atoll with a height of just over 2.4 m.

With a height of over 15 m, a mountain of rubble and rubbish in Male is the highest (artificial) elevation in the island state.

The Indian Ocean

The islands of the Maldives are completely surrounded by the Indian Ocean.

The Indian Ocean covers an area of 74.9 million km², making it the third largest ocean after the Pacific and the Atlantic. The vast majority of this ocean is in the southern hemisphere. It has its greatest depth of 8,047 m in the so-called Diamantina Deep.



Algeria Angola
Benin Botswana
Burkina Faso Burundi
Cameroon Canary Islands
Cape Verde Central African Republic
Chad Comoros
D.R. Congo Djibouti
Egypt Equatorial Guinea
Eritrea Ethiopia
Gabon Gambia
Ghana Guinea
Guinea-Bissau Ivory Coast
Kenya Lesotho
Liberia Libya
Madagascar Malawi
Mali Mauritania
Mauritius Morocco
Mozambique Namibia
Niger Nigeria
Reunion Republic of the Congo
Rwanda Sao Tome and Principe
Senegal Seychelles
Sierra Leone Somalia
South Africa South Sudan
Sudan Suriname
Swaziland Tanzania
Togo Tunisia
Uganda Zambia


Afghanistan Armenia
Azerbaijan Bahrain
Bangladesh Bhutan
Brunei Cambodia
China Cyprus
East Timor Georgia
Hong Kong India
Indonesia Iran
Iraq Israel
Japan Jordan
Kazakhstan Kuwait
Kyrgyzstan Laos
Lebanon Macau
Malaysia Maldives
Mongolia Myanmar
Nepal North Korea
Oman Pakistan
Palestine Philippines
Qatar Saudi Arabia
Singapore South Korea
Sri Lanka Syria
Taiwan Tajikistan
Thailand Turkey
Turkmenistan United Arab Emirates
Uzbekistan Vietnam


Aland Albania
Andorra Austria
Belarus Belgium
Bulgaria Croatia
Czech Republic Denmark
Estonia Finland
France Germany
Greece Hungary
Iceland Ireland
Italy Kosovo
Latvia Liechtenstein
Lithuania Luxembourg
Macedonia Malta
Moldova Monaco
Montenegro Netherlands
Norway Poland
Portugal Romania
Russia San Marino
Serbia Slovakia
Slovenia Spain
Sweden Switzerland
Ukraine Vatican City

North America

Canada Greenland
Mexico United States

Central America

Aruba Antigua and Barbuda
Bahamas Barbados
Belize Bosnia and Herzegovina
Cuba British Virgin Islands
Costa Rica Curacao
Dominica Dominican Republic
Ecuador El Salvador
Guadeloupe Guatemala
Haiti Honduras
Jamaica Martinique
Montserrat Panama
Puerto Rico Saba
  Trinidad and Tobago

South America

Argentina Bolivia
Brazil Chile
Colombia French Guiana
Guyana Nicaragua
Paraguay Peru
Uruguay Venezuela


Australia American Samoa
Cook Islands Easter Island
Fiji Falkland Islands
Guam French Polynesia
Kiribati Marshall Islands
Micronesia Nauru
New Caledonia New Zealand
Niue Northern Mariana Islands
Palau Pitcairn
Samoa Papua New Guinea
Tokelau Solomon Islands
Tonga Tuvalu
Vanuatu Wallis and Futuna
Top 50 Engineering Schools in Asia

Copyright 2021 Top Engineering Schools All Right Reserved.