You are here: Top Engineering Schools > Oceania > Palau


Palau Population, cities


According to Countryaah website, Palau has around 22,000 residents.

Palau Population, cities

Ethnic groups

Around 70% of the population are Palau, 28% Asians and around 2% are Caucasian, i.e. white.


Around two thirds of the residents are Catholics and Protestants, while around one third practice the local fashion kngei religion.


English and Palaui are spoken in Palau.


The capital of Palau is Melekeok on October 7, 2006.

This replaced Koror as the capital of Palau. The city has so far only about 1,600 residents, whereas Koror has about 12,300 residents.

Palau: Geography and Map

Defined by DigoPaul, the state of Palau consists of a total of 20 larger and a number of smaller islands, of which only nine are inhabited with a total area of 500 km². The length of the coast to the ocean is around 1.50 km².

Palau: Geography and Map

The islands are volcanic or coral islands. The main islands are:

  • Babeldaob, which is the largest island in the archipelago with an area of 365 km².
  • Koror
  • Nguterabel
  • Mecherchar
  • Beliliou


On November 7, 2013, typhoon "Haiyan" (category 5) hit the island of Kayangel in the 6 km² atoll of the same name. All 69 residents of the atoll could hide in the stone administration building of the island and survive the typhoon here. He met the Philippines a day later and wreaked havoc there too.

Tidal range in Palau

In Palau, the mean tidal range is around 1 to 2 m.


The world's highest tidal range can be found in the Bay of Fundy in Canada, where it is up to 16 meters, and at spring tide even over 20 meters. The Bay of Fundy is located on the Atlantic between the Canadian provinces of New Brunswick and Nova Scotia, which is called Nova Scotia in German and whose capital is Halifax.

On the German North Sea coast it varies between one and three meters. In the western Baltic Sea, on the other hand, the tidal range is only 0.3 meters, while it is barely noticeable in the eastern Baltic Sea.

Longitude and latitude

Palau is roughly at the following latitude (abbreviation Δφ) and longitude (abbreviation Δλ):

Δφ = about 7 30 'north latitude.

Δλ = about 133 30' east longitude

You can find detailed information on this subject under: Geographical longitude and latitude.

Legal time

For Palau, the following value applies to Central European Time (CET), i.e. the time without summer time. A minus sign means that it is earlier there, a plus sign that it is later than CET:

Δt (CET) = + 8 h

More detailed explanations of the time can be found under: Time zones, time.

The highest point of the sun in Palau

A latitude of φ = 7.5 N on Palau is considered.

If the sun or its pixel is exactly at 7.5 N, the sun is exactly vertical at noon. This happens exactly twice a year, roughly 29 days after March 21st and 29 days before September 21st.


If the image point of the sun (declination) is north of a latitude of 7.5 N, the sun is not in the south at noon, as in our latitudes, but in the north. The sun moves from east to north to west, where, like us, it sets.


Mount Ngerchelchuus

The highest point in the country is Mount Ngerchelchuus with a height of 242 m.

rivers and lakes

Ngermeskang River

The Ngermeskang River on Babeldaob is the longest river on the islands.

Tabecheding River

Another river is the Tabecheding River. He is also on Babeldaob.

Lake Ngardok

The largest lake is Lake Ngardok on the island of Babeldaob. It is one of the few freshwater lakes in Micronesia and with a size of 493 hectares it is also the largest freshwater lake in Micronesia.

Other lakes are:

  • Jellyfish Lake in the Rock Islands
  • Eil Malk, on the Rock Islands: It is a warm water lake with a temperature of about 37.5 degrees.

The Pacific

With a total coast length of 1,520 km, Palau borders the Pacific Ocean - more precisely, Palau is located in the South Pacific, the so-called South Pacific. This region of the Pacific Ocean includes the Polynesian Islands as well as parts of Melanesia and Micronesia.



Algeria Angola
Benin Botswana
Burkina Faso Burundi
Cameroon Canary Islands
Cape Verde Central African Republic
Chad Comoros
D.R. Congo Djibouti
Egypt Equatorial Guinea
Eritrea Ethiopia
Gabon Gambia
Ghana Guinea
Guinea-Bissau Ivory Coast
Kenya Lesotho
Liberia Libya
Madagascar Malawi
Mali Mauritania
Mauritius Morocco
Mozambique Namibia
Niger Nigeria
Reunion Republic of the Congo
Rwanda Sao Tome and Principe
Senegal Seychelles
Sierra Leone Somalia
South Africa South Sudan
Sudan Suriname
Swaziland Tanzania
Togo Tunisia
Uganda Zambia


Afghanistan Armenia
Azerbaijan Bahrain
Bangladesh Bhutan
Brunei Cambodia
China Cyprus
East Timor Georgia
Hong Kong India
Indonesia Iran
Iraq Israel
Japan Jordan
Kazakhstan Kuwait
Kyrgyzstan Laos
Lebanon Macau
Malaysia Maldives
Mongolia Myanmar
Nepal North Korea
Oman Pakistan
Palestine Philippines
Qatar Saudi Arabia
Singapore South Korea
Sri Lanka Syria
Taiwan Tajikistan
Thailand Turkey
Turkmenistan United Arab Emirates
Uzbekistan Vietnam


Aland Albania
Andorra Austria
Belarus Belgium
Bulgaria Croatia
Czech Republic Denmark
Estonia Finland
France Germany
Greece Hungary
Iceland Ireland
Italy Kosovo
Latvia Liechtenstein
Lithuania Luxembourg
Macedonia Malta
Moldova Monaco
Montenegro Netherlands
Norway Poland
Portugal Romania
Russia San Marino
Serbia Slovakia
Slovenia Spain
Sweden Switzerland
Ukraine Vatican City

North America

Canada Greenland
Mexico United States

Central America

Aruba Antigua and Barbuda
Bahamas Barbados
Belize Bosnia and Herzegovina
Cuba British Virgin Islands
Costa Rica Curacao
Dominica Dominican Republic
Ecuador El Salvador
Guadeloupe Guatemala
Haiti Honduras
Jamaica Martinique
Montserrat Panama
Puerto Rico Saba
  Trinidad and Tobago

South America

Argentina Bolivia
Brazil Chile
Colombia French Guiana
Guyana Nicaragua
Paraguay Peru
Uruguay Venezuela


Australia American Samoa
Cook Islands Easter Island
Fiji Falkland Islands
Guam French Polynesia
Kiribati Marshall Islands
Micronesia Nauru
New Caledonia New Zealand
Niue Northern Mariana Islands
Palau Pitcairn
Samoa Papua New Guinea
Tokelau Solomon Islands
Tonga Tuvalu
Vanuatu Wallis and Futuna
Top 50 Engineering Schools in Asia

Copyright 2021 Top Engineering Schools All Right Reserved.